Connect with us


Ahmed Wase emerges House of Reps Deputy Speaker



Hon Ahmed Idris Wase (Wase federal constituency, Plateau) has been elected unopposed as Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives. He ran a joint ticket with the new Speaker, Femi Gbajabiamila and will succeed Yusuf Lasun from Osun. Wase was nominated for the post by Hon Sade Sole from Kastina state. The nomination was seconded by Hon Onifioke Luke, a member-elect from Akwa-Ibom. There was no other nominee for the position.

READ ALSO: How PDP Senators caused Ndume’s defeat, Lawan’s victory – Lagos Chairman

The National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) had adopted Senator Ovie Omo-Agege for Deputy Senate President and Wase as Deputy Speaker. Its spokesman, Lanre Issa-Onilu said the decision was reached after emergency meetings which held on Saturday the 8th and Sunday the 9th of June 2019. He added that the committee arrived at their decision after wide consultations with President Muhammadu Buhari and party stakeholders, including APC governors.