Connect with us


Ortom sends list of 15 commissioner-nominees to Benue Assembly



Benue state governor Samuel Ortom has nominated 15 people for selection and confirmation as commissioners on the State Executive Council.

The chairman of the Chamber of State Assembly of Bené, Titus Uba, announced this on Tuesday when he announced the receipt of a list of the 15 candidates for commissioner remitted to the legislature by Governor Ortom.

According to him, the governor’s correspondence entitled “Forwarding of Curriculum Vitae with respect to nominees for confirmation of appointment as commissioners”, listed the names of nominees such as Micheal Gusa, David Olofu, Prof. Dennis Ityavyar, Bernard Unenge, Dennis Ekpe Ogbu, Merga Kachina, Mrs. Ladi Ajene and Mrs. Ngunan Adingi.

Others were Dr. Ongbabo Elaigwu, Engr. Alexander Shaapera, Timothy Aondona Ijir, Engr. Dondo Ahire, Oyiwona G. Emmanuel, Igirgi Nyiazungwe and Victor D. Ukaha.

The speaker also read the correspondence from the governor requesting the Chamber to evaluate the Internal Revenue Service of the State of Benue (BIRS).

He said that the correspondence was to confirm him as the substantive president of BIRS after his appointment as an actor.

The Chamber also approved the dismissal of the President, the Local Government Service Commission of Benue State (LGSC) and four permanent commissioners of the commission.