Connect with us

insideoyo news

Oyo Assembly Confirms Judiciary Service Commission Nominees, Ogbomoso South Caretaker Chairman Nominee



The Oyo state House of Assembly has on Friday, confirmed the four members of the Judiciary Service Commission nominees sent to it by Governor Seyi Makinde.

Insideoyo newspaper report that The four confirmed full time members are Mr. Kehinde Akinwunmi Esq., Mr. Ogunrinde Yusuf Olatunji Esq., Lateef Adetunji Adedigba Esq., and Wahab Adedigba.

Also, the earlier rejected caretaker chairman nominee for Ogbomosho South Local Government, Mr. Oyedokun Oyeniran has been reconsidered and confirmed by the House.

Insideoyo newspaper report that Governor Seyi Makinde had written a letter to the House requesting the re-consideration of the nominee after he has been rejected due to petition over non-indigeneship of the local government nominated to supervise.

Chairman, Local Government, Chieftaincy Matters and State Honours, Honourable Olusegun Popoola who presented report of the screening of the nominees on Tuesday, failed to give specific reasons why Oyeniyi was deemed “not appointable”.

Oyeniyi’s rejection comes on the back of protests against his candidature by leaders of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) from Ogbomoso South at state Secretariat, Ibadan, on Tuesday.

Insideoyo newspaper report that The protesters had alleged that Oyeniyi was an imposition on them by some powers that be, was a new entrant into the PDP, and did not contribute meaningfully to the party’s success in the last election.