Connect with us


PDP sweeps Bayelsa LG election



The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) was declared the winner of the eight administrative positions in the 2019 Local Government Council elections held on Saturday.

The PDP also swept the polls in the councilor’s elections, earning 105 seats.

Officers returning from the eight council areas took turns announcing the results of the elections in the Independent Electoral Commission of the State of Bayelsa, BYSIEC, a collection center in the City of Yenagoa late on Saturday night.

GISTOK report that Diepreye Ubarugu of the PDP obtained 42,539 votes to beat other contenders to emerge, President of Kolokuma-Opokuma LGA, while Dr. Bertola Perekeme received 62,529 to secure that of Ekeremor.

READ ALSO: Hours After Killing Of Winners Chapel’s Pastor, Kidnappers Release Wife

Alali Embelakpor was declared the winner of the Sagbama presidential election with 96, 468 votes. Brass went to Victor Isaiah, who returns as Head of the Council with 28,667 votes, while Ebinyo Turnah won Ogbia with 17,661 votes.

Alambibo West won Nembe with 54,562 votes, while the elected mayor of the city of Yenagoa is Oropaye Nimizua, who obtained 89,831 votes.

The acting President of BYSIEC, Chief Remember Ogbe, officially declared the eight PDP candidates as new Presidents of the 8 Local Government Councils.

Forty-four political parties participated in the election of the Local Council of the State of Bayelsa of 2019, with the main opposition party, the Congress of All Progressives and some others boycotting the process.