Connect with us


Tribunal dismisses petitions against three Oyo Reps members



The electoral petition court of the National Assembly in the state of Oyo dismissed the petitions against three members of the House of Representatives in the country.

Today Nigeria newspaper report that the elections of the three legislators whose electoral petition court confirmed on Saturday are the Hon. Musliudeen Olaide Akinremi, HE. Tolulope Akande-Sadipe and Hon. Olayemi Taiwo, representing the constituencies of Ibadan North, Oluyole and Ido / Ibarapa Central, respectively.

Our correspondent recalls that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had declared Akinremi of the Congress of All Progressives (APC), Akande-Sadipe also of APC and Taiwo of the Popular Democratic Party (PDP) winners of the House of Representatives elections during the last General Surveys.

However, the candidate of the Democratic People’s Party in Ibadan North, Ademola Omotoso, approached the court requesting elections and urged the court to declare him (Omotoso) the winner.

Also, the PDP candidate in Oluyole, Mr. Mojeed Mogbonjubola kicked against the victory of Akande-Sadipe when he approached the court to declare him (Mogbojubola) as the winner.

APC Professor Adeniyi Olowofela also approached the court while praying to declare him (Olowofela) the winner of the federal constituency elections of Ido / Ibarapa East against Taiwo of the PDP.

The petitioners contested that the elections were marred by corrupt practices; breach of the disposition of the electoral law and that the respondents did not win by the required number of valid votes.

The petitioners also wanted the court order to declare them winners or that the elections be annulled.

But, in defending the victory of Akinremi as the winner of the federal constituency elections of Ibadan North held in February this year, the judges who were unanimous in their decision in favor of the legislator, also awarded the sum of N150,000 cost against Omotoson from PDP.

In issuing a trial in favor of Akinremi, the three-person panel of the court that has Judge Anthony Akpovi as president, Judge Sambo Daka and Judge Chinyere Ani as members unanimously said that Omotoso’s request lacked merit.

The court also dismissed the petition filed by Mogbonjubola of the PDP in the federal constituency of Oluyole against Akande-Sadipe and another petition filed by Olowofela of the APC against Taiwo in the Ido / Ibarapa East constituency. The judges said the petitions lack merit and granted a cost of N150,000 each against the petitioners.

The court held that no election was held in the world without a minor error and that the petitioners did not prove that the substantial breach affected the outcome of the vote.

Today Nigeria newspaper also report that The panel also said that the petitioners did not present the necessary documents and witnesses to defend their petition, adding that the burden of proving that the election did not comply with the provisions of the Electoral Law rests with the petitioner.